Professor Volker Wieland receives award of the Monetary Workshop

Volker Wieland has received the Prize of the Monetary Workshop in Frankfurt. He was honoured in particular for his "achievements in monetary theory in particular concerning the appropriate interest rate policy of central banks and his quantitative research on macroeconomic stabilisation policy". The chairman of the selection committee, Bert Rürup, describes him as "one of the most brilliant minds in monetary macroeconomics".

The Monetary Workshop is a discussion group of academics, entrepreneurs and journalists that was founded some 30 years ago and discusses current monetary policy issues twice a year. Since 2013, the Monetary Workshop has been awarding an annual prize for outstanding scientific or practical achievements in the monetary field. Previous award recipients were Otmar Issing, William White, Ernst Baltensperger, Jean-Claude Trichet, Markus Brunnermeier and Isabel Schnabel.

Prof. Volker Wieland, Ph.D.[Translate to english:]