Prof. Christoph M. Schmidt receives the Gustav Stolper Award of the Verein für Socialpolitik

The Verein für Socialpolitik (VfS) has awarded the Gustav Stolper Award 2016 to Prof. Christoph M. Schmidt, president of the RWI – Leibniz Institute for Economic Research and chairman of the German Council of Economic Experts.

In its decision, the Verein emphasized Prof. Schmidt’s influence on the economic policy debate in the area of labour market economics and applied economics. During the ceremony at the annual meeting of the VfS, its chairwoman, Prof. Monika Schnitzer, highlighted Prof. Schmidt’s ability to effectively convey econometric and policy analyses.

The award is named after the Austrian economist, journalist, and advisor Gustav Stolper (1888 to 1947). Prof. Christoph M. Schmidt is the third member of the German Council of Economic Experts to receive the award following Prof. Wolfgang Franz (2012) and Prof. Otmar Issing (2011).